Dawn Pisturino's Blog

My Writing Journey

Selma’s Review of “Lunar Gazing Haiku”

on June 19, 2024

(Created on Canva by Dawn Pisturino.)

I want to thank poet Selma Martin for reading and reviewing my new digital chapbook, Lunar Gazing Haiku on Amazon and Goodreads. Selma is a lovely woman who goes out of her way to support other authors. It’s critically important that small press and self-published authors support each other in this competitive industry. I’ve found that a lot of authors expect people to buy their books, give them positive reviews, and spread the word without ever returning the favor to other authors. The very purpose of a writing community is to mutually support one another. Nobody can afford to buy everybody’s book, including me. But if you read someone’s book, please do your part and write a review. Thank you.

Selma in Japan

5.0 out of 5 stars 

Perfect for your moon gazing nights

Reviewed in Japan on June 17, 2024

Verified Purchase

“I’m a haiku enthusiast and believe all haiku lovers will be smitten with the lines penned in this stellar Lunar Gazing Haiku Collection.


“Author Dawn Pisturino is who to seek out for timely haiku that resonate on any moon gazing night — for isn’t it then that our innermost thoughts come out like little haiku poems? I think so.

“I’m glad I purchased this book. Glad to add to my ever growing haiku collection. Satisfied customer in Japan.”

Thank you, Selma, for your stellar review!

Purchase link: https://a.co/d/1ZmeKB7

Please visit Selma’s website and experience her beautiful and sensitive poetry! Check out her wonderful poetry collection, In the Shadow of Rainbows, on Amazon at https://a.co/d/e9m3XIe.

Have a beautiful and blessed June day! For some reason, we’ve had unseasonably cool weather for the last couple of days while the rest of the country is roasting. If you’re under the heat dome, drink plenty of water and stay as cool as you can.

Dawn Pisturino

Author, Lunar Gazing Haiku (2024) – #1 Amazon New Release in Asian and Contemporary Poetry and 45-Minute Teen & Young Adult Short Reads

Author, Ariel’s Song: Published Poems, 1987 – 2023

#1 Amazon Bestseller Author 2024

#1 Amazon Bestseller Co-Author 2022, 2023, 2024

Author of the Month for March 2024 on Spillwords Press

Co-Author, Petals of Haiku: An Anthology (2024)

Co-Author, Hidden in Childhood: A Poetry Anthology (2023)

Co-Author, 2023 Arizona Literary Magazine

Co-Author, Wounds I Healed: The Poetry of Strong Women (2024)

Official Author Website: www.dawnpisturino.org


49 responses to “Selma’s Review of “Lunar Gazing Haiku”

  1. You are correct Dawn in needing to support one another. We understand the challenges like no one else. Congratulations on another great review. All the best to you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations, Dawn, on this wonderful review. Selma is a marvelous poet. I agree about supporting other poets and authors. I will get to you new book soon. I have a few before yours.

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are a wonderful writer yourself, Robbie, and I look forward to reading more of your books, as you know. You are always very conscientious about writing reviews and supporting and encouraging other writers. That’s what it takes to keep the writing community going. Thank you for your hard work and efforts. Have a great day!

      Like

  3. I agree 110%. When it comes to supporting one another among the competition of millions of writers and brilliant authors, it’s extremely crucial that we have each other’s back. Congratulations on a well thought out and supportive review. I wish you the best in the years to come 👏💕🤗

    Liked by 2 people

  4. michnavs says:

    what a lovely review. Just downloaded the kindle.❤️ i will share my review soon

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Once again I offer you my most sincere congratulations for the review🌹

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Dawn, what a wonderful review. Congratulations!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Lovely review Dawn !
    Continued success in all you do 🙏

    Liked by 2 people

  8. celtics345 says:

    That is awesome Dawn ill always be your number one fan rooting for you always

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love to hear of good things happening for talented scribes!

    Liked by 3 people

  10. cindy knoke says:

    Wonderful Dawn. Congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wow. Wonderful review, Dawn. Your poetry is so well-crafted that it deserves all the 5-star reviews it earns.

    Liked by 3 people

  12. GP says:

    I’m going to have to get you a ‘Congratulations’ gif.!!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. macalder02 says:

    You are really at a stage in your life where your poetic talent has the recognition vomo drbe ser. There is no doubt that you greatly deserve it.

    Liked by 4 people

  14. Michele Lee says:

    You and Selma are incredibly giving and talented. Beautiful beings! 💕

    Liked by 3 people

  15. Congratulations on this great review of your fantastic poetry, Dawn! 😊 ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  16. What a lovely review from Selma Dawn. Congrats my friend! 😊👏🏼💖

    Liked by 3 people

  17. SelmaMartin says:

    Dawn. You said what I’ve been thinking. Only you said it better. No one better than another writer who knows the struggles is better support. I want to support everyone here. Of course I WILL write HONEST reviews for those books that move me. (Not always the case—I am honest!)
    And now with the Japanese Yen devaluation I can no longer purchase as many as I want.
    But (to everyone out there), send me a PDF and I will. Or lower your prices so I CAN purchase. Poetry preferrable. 😀.
    And if anyone wants to read a book by this nobody called Selma Martin, please get in touch. I have the right fix for that.
    We are in this together, pardners 🤠 and I love rubbing shoulders with y’all. Honest to Goodness! ✋🏽

    Dawn, your book was an easy read. You captured the subtlety of the moment in each lovely haiku. It was easy to love this book (too)
    My absolute pleasure dear friend. Keep going. You’re on a roll.
    I bless all your endeavors. 🤗

    Liked by 2 people

    • My internet has been down the last couple of days, so I am just now able to respond. I appreciate your comments very much. Writing is hard work – and lonely work – at any given time, so it’s crucial that we all stick together. I deliberately priced this book at $0.99 so people could take advantage of it and enjoy it. And it’s short, a very quick and easy read. I hope more people take advantage of the opportunity to read it. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for reading and reviewing it. I appreciate you and everything you do for others, Selma. Blessings to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. […] Selma’s Review of “Lunar Gazing Haiku” […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment