Dawn Pisturino's Blog

My Writing Journey

David Milligan-Croft’s Review of “Ariel’s Song”

on May 23, 2024

(Graphic by Kym Gordon Moore of From Behind the Pen. Thank you, Kym!)

I was thrilled to read author/poet David Milligan-Croft’s reviews of my first poetry book, Ariel’s Song: Published Poems, 1987 – 2023 on Amazon and Goodreads. I had to laugh when he wrote that I had taken him on “a fabulous roller coaster of emotions” because so much of my writing life has been precisely that! Some of my best poems originated from the emotional turmoil I was experiencing at the time. Plus, I am very sensitive to other people’s thoughts and emotions, which affects me deeply. But, as Winston Churchill said, “if you’re going through hell, keep going.” The ability to tap into and articulate deep emotions keeps me from going completely bonkers. It’s therapeutic writing about experiences and emotions that trouble me. I highly recommend it to others.

~

David Milligan Croft

5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional roller coaster!

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 19, 2024

Verified Purchase

“Ariel’s Song by Dawn Pisturino is a fabulous roller coaster of emotions! At first, I was amused at her humorous limericks, then whisked off to the heat of the desert, palpable and evocative of a Moroccan bazaar or the windswept cliffs of an 18th century English mansion! Her love poetry was both sensuous and seductive, whilst poems that touched on emotional abuse were heart-wrenching, yet empathetic. Ariel’s Song has it all – nostalgia, history, fairy tales with a contemporary twist. There’s love and grief (the two go hand-in-hand) all lyrically woven with the wit, knowledge and delicacy of a person who knows her craft.”

~

I can’t thank you enough, David, for your wonderful review!

To learn more about David Milligan-Croft and his published books, visit his website: Thereisnocavalry.

Thanks for stopping by!

Dawn Pisturino

Author, Ariel’s Song: Published Poems, 1987 – 2023

Author of the Month for March 2024 on Spillwords Press

Co-Author, Hidden in Childhood: A Poetry Anthology

Co-Author, 2023 Arizona Literary Magazine

Co-Author, Wounds I Healed: The Poetry of Strong Women

Official Author Website: www.dawnpisturino.org


59 responses to “David Milligan-Croft’s Review of “Ariel’s Song”

  1. Great review! Congratulations!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. macalder02 says:

    The review is great. You look very good in the photo.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Fabulous, Kym!!!! 💓

    Liked by 2 people

  4. GP says:

    What a wonderful review!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. celtics345 says:

    great review you are a elite writer and many of us can learn from you write on young woman

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Congratulations Dawn…such a beautiful review!!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. You’re most welcome, Dawn. I’m happy that you like it. I loved it so much, I’m in the middle of reading it again! Just to recapture some of that wonderful imagery you create.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Oh wow Dawn, this is another excellent review that David did! And bless you for the image credit. I just melded what you already produced my friend! 🥰🙏🏼🤗💖😍 Great job! 👏🏼

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Beautiful review!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Michele Lee says:

    Congratulations, Dawn, on receiving a wonderful review and writing recognition! 👏🏻

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Angela says:

    Amazing! Congratulations!

    Liked by 3 people

  12. Congrats on another fabulous review, Dawn! 🩷

    Liked by 3 people

  13. aana says:

    Good review. 👍🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

    Liked by 4 people

  14. 💯💖🌷

    Greetings pk 🌎
    David López

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Great review, Dawn. ❣️

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Beautiful Dawn. Congratulations. I have the book. Both versions. I still have to read it. I will soon.
    xoxo

    Liked by 2 people

  17. […] David Milligan-Croft’s Review of “Ariel’s Song” […]

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Akshra Singh says:

    Nice 👍👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Akshra Singh says:

    Please check my new post on my site Just believe shivshambhu9 🙏🏻

    Liked by 2 people

  20. Yes, all sounds inspiring to read and will surely look for your poetry book. I love the title and poetry works well when ‘distilling’ the intensity of emotions into words.

    Liked by 3 people

  21. KK says:

    A wonderful review! Congratulations 👏👏

    Liked by 3 people

  22. elvinmah says:

    good song if i might add. keep it up

    Liked by 2 people

  23. MsHazyBrain says:

    Congratulations

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment