Dawn Pisturino's Blog

My Writing Journey

Book Review: “The Life and Times of Le Bronco von der Lowenhohle”

on April 29, 2024

The Life and Times of Le Bronco von der Lowenhohle by Thomas Wikman (2022 ). Available on Amazon.com at https://www.amazon.com/dp/0998084956.

I loved this book so much that I sat on the front porch one afternoon and read it in one sitting — something I wasn’t planning to do. I laughed, cried, thought about all the dogs I had ever owned, and absorbed new information about dog care. The book is written with honesty, caring, and yes, — love. Thomas Wikman loves his dogs, especially, Bronco, and that love shines throughout the book. I found it touching, heartwarming, and inspirational. He reminds us that dogs are family, too, and deserve all the love and commitment we can give. Every dog is special in its own way and enriches its owner’s life with its special quirks and talents. Bronco, to be sure, had many special talents and kept his family on its toes keeping up with him.

If you love dogs, you will love this book and all the sad and funny anecdotes. If you have never heard of the Leonberger breed, you will learn about it in this book. If you want to read more from Thomas Wikman, follow his delightful blog on WordPress.

Website: https://www.leonbergerlife.com

Dawn Pisturino

Author, Ariel’s Song: Published Poems, 1987 – 2023

Author of the Month for March 2024 on Spillwords Press

Co-Author, Hidden in Childhood: A Poetry Anthology

Co-Author, 2023 Arizona Literary Magazine

Co-Author, Wounds I Healed: The Poetry of Strong Women

April 29, 2024

Copyright 2024 Dawn Pisturino. All Rights Reserved.


64 responses to “Book Review: “The Life and Times of Le Bronco von der Lowenhohle”

  1. Kymber Hawke says:

    Great reviews! I have had Thomas’s book on my TBR for a long time. It’s time I read it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks for sharing this interesting review!

    Liked by 6 people

  3. WOW, what a sweet review Dawn. You can tell you really enjoyed this good read. Nice! 🤗💖😊

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Wow Dawn, thank you so much for your kindness. You wrote such a beautiful and supportive review. I really appreciate it. You are right, I love my dogs and Bronco was my best friend. 💖

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Thanks for this wonderful review, Dawn. I’m a dog lover, so I’ll add this book to my TBR. Congrats to Thomas! 🎉

    Liked by 2 people

  6. 9siduri says:

    What a lovely review! I’ve read Thomas’ book. The review captures the spirit of it perfectly.

    As for animals, an aunt of mine, who has had various animals come and go, once said, “Each one was my favorite.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Absolutely agree with your review. Thomas put so much life into this book.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. I loved Wikmam’s book! Like you, I laughed and cried (sometimes I growled with anger). Fabulous book!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Wow, this is a beautiful review, Dawn! I agree with you that this book is touching, honest, and informative. I, too, laughed and cried as I read this book. I was touched by how the dogs cared about each member of their family.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. A heartfelt review, Dawn, for a beautiful book. Any dog lover would enjoy reading it.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. cindy knoke says:

    Love both of you.

    Liked by 3 people

  12. balladeer says:

    I’m a lifelong dog lover, so I need to buy this book!

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Pooja G says:

    Another wonderful review. I’m not that much of a dog person although I do like them but I do enjoy Thomas’s blog and find his posts about Leonbergers so interesting.

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Hi Dawn, a wonderful review of a delightful book that I also enjoyed.

    Liked by 3 people

  15. SANA Whyte says:

    Your book cover is stunning and really makes an impact! What obstacles are you encountering in the process of writing your book?

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I also enjoyed this book. Your review is wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. […] Book Review: “The Life and Times of Le Bronco von der Lowenhohle” […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment